Created in 1976, The Marshall Rotary Civic Achievment Award was given to active Rotarians in recognition of their service and  contributions to the local community.

The proposal from the Board of Directors is that the Marshall Rotary Club establish an annual award to be called the “Rotary Civic Achievement Award.” This award will be presented annually to a Rotarian who demonstrates the Rotary Ideal of a Service by extraordinary contributions to civic endeavors in Marshall and Harrison County. Dedication, accomplishments and willingness to serve should be considered as indicators of the Rotarian’s commitment to Service Above Self. Although service to our fellow man within the Rotary Club itself is important and should not be ignored, the demonstration of the Ideal of Service to the larger community is the focus of this Civic Achievement Award.

Not less than three nor more than five nominees will be chosen from the Rotary roster by a committee composed of the Chairman of the Marshall City Commission, the County Judge of Harrison County and the President of the Marshall Chamber of Commerce. These nominees will be submitted to a committee composed of the immediate three past presidents of the Marshall Rotary Club, and they will select the recipient of the award. The current Rotary President should serve as a non­voting ex-officio member of both committees, offering suggestions only when requested to do so by the committee.

Know recipients of the Civic Achiviement Award include the following:

            1976-1977                JACK S. MANN
            1977-1978               CHARLIE H. FLOWERS
            1978-1979               CHARLES SPANGLER
            1979-1980               WILLIAM L. GAW, JR
1980-1981               RICHARD W. BLALOCK
1981-1982               SAM R. MOSELEY
1982-1983               LOUIS W. KARIEL, SR
1983-1984               CHARLES B. SMITH
1984-1985               H.A. “TONY” BRIDGE
1985-1986               JAMES E. PEARS
1986-1987               SAM H. MOORE
1987-1988               CECIL C. TOMLINSON
1988-1989               DR. ROBERT E. “JACK” CRAIG
1999-2000               JIM TAYLOR
2000-2001               RICHARD TURNER